Dirty flat

Stefano1072
Level 2
Bologna, Italy

Dirty flat

Hi,

I have been using the platform for several years and have just had a very negative experience with a host: the flat I chose was in extremely
precarious hygienic conditions, I was even afraid to catch some infection during my stay.

I noticed that most flats were unavailable by the time I got into the apartment so decided to bear with it -which meant taking showers at an acquaintance's house- and report it afterwards.
I did it and Airbnb provided no concrete solution to the issue when the host refused to refund part of the cost I had paid, despite having provided substantial evidence of my complaint.
Airbnb now considers the case settled! Let me add that this is not how I thought Airbnb would deal with a complaint from a long-standing customer.

Stefano
12 Replies 12
Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

Difficult to comment as you haven't actually said in what the listing was not as described.

What solution were you expecting exactly when you didn't follow Airbnb's T&C and contact the host to see if they could resolve and if not ask Airbnb to help you find alternative accommodation.

What you can't do is not report any issues, stay for the duration and then complain after your stay.

I never stated that the flat did not resemble the pics, the issue was that it had probably not been cleaned in months.

The bathroom looked appalling and black spots could be seen all over the floor and on the shower base.  The bedsheets were equally dirty and traces of mold could be seen on the bedroom wall.

I did provide several very detailed pics to back my claim, but I am afraid the host won't face any consequence for it. This is plain wrong.

Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom