Do I need a HMO licence to rent my entire property on Airbnb

Gemma36
Level 1
Leeds, United Kingdom

Do I need a HMO licence to rent my entire property on Airbnb

I have been letting my entire property on Airbnb for a few months 

the next door neighbour obviously doesn't like this & has reported it to the local council 

the letter from the council is a section 171 which says I am letting my property out as a HMO & short term let without permission 

i presume this means without a HMO licence 

it's a 4 bedroom terrace house so up to 8 guests can stay there 

there are two bedrooms on the first floor & two bedrooms on the second floor 

does this mean I have to have a HMO licence? It says on www.gov.uk that a HMO licence is required if there are 5 or more people renting from more than 1 household 

Is this applicable when a Airbnb guest books to stay in my property & there might be people in the group who are not related do I need to get a HMO licence or permission for letting short term? 

Any advice is greatly appreciate thanks ! d 

8 Replies 8
Clare0
Level 10
Templeton, CA

@Gemma36i Being in the US, I'm not sure what a HMO is, but if it is the equivalent of what we call Home Owners Association (HOA) then yes, you would need to follow the rules dictated by them.  I may be way off base not knowing what a HMO is so please clarify. 🙂

Sandra126
Level 10
Daylesford, Australia

I imagine you need to reduce the amount of guests you have staying, or get a licence! Where I am the cap is 5 also.

Hamid-Reza0
Level 1
Los Angeles, CA