Extra charges for water and electricity

Extra charges for water and electricity

Hi

As a host, how does one go about charging extra for water and electricity when it is applicable?

Thanks

Mireille 

76 Replies 76
Cindy204
Level 1
Byron, CA

I am considering renting for 6 months to a guest I cant get ahold of anyone at the office to let me know what amount will be taken out of my fee? Anybody know?

Isagani0
Level 2
Mississauga, Canada

I am new to Airbnb. I'd like to list my condo in Manila, Philippines and price it where the guest pays for electricity used. My unit is equip with separate Kwhr meter just for the condo, wherein we can easily determine the exact energy used and multiplied by unit price determine the total equivalent amount. How should I go about this in Listing and separately collect for electricity used.

Please help, thank you.

Isagani

Hi Isagani, i'm a host in the Philippines. Two ways you can put a price cap lets say assign a maximum consumption and anything beyond that it will be charged to guest, or 2nd charged everything to them but explain that utilities in Manila are high and you kept it exclusive to give them control on their usage.

Hope this helps

Regards,

Richard

I agree on your second option. We just have to install a separate meter and clearly expalain to the guest that Electricity in not in the rent and paid separately, like cleaning fee. Question is it ok for us to require deposit for this. With separate meter amount can be determined upon check out. How can we make it work. Thanks

Hi Isagani,

You probably figured this out as my reply is 6 years late. Just wanna share my experience.

For long-term guests (28 days or more), we clearly state in the listing and in the contract that electricity is to be paid separately by the tenant. This is to prevent electricity misuse and wastage. An electricity deposit of 5000 pesos per month is required prior to check-in ( via Airbnb's request money feature).