Extra guest/Place a mess- What to do?

Answered!
Deven0
Level 2
Sudbury, Canada

Extra guest/Place a mess- What to do?

Hi everyone. I'm new to airbnb, with my 3rd departing this morning, and it was by far my worst experience yet. He was dishonest about how many people would be staying, saying he was visiting with 1 guest when in fact it was him and 2 guests. I charge $20 a night for an extra guest. When I discovered he had an extra person I was just going to let it slide as I didn't want to start a problem over $40 (It was a 2-night stay). Then when the group left the apartment this morning they left it in a total mess. Empty and half-empty beer cans littered the apartment, making it reek of stale beer, pistochio shells left all over the counter and ground. Garbage around the apartment, sink full of dirty dishes etc. It took the cleaner over twice as long to clean the apartment, and cost me an extra $75 in cleaning fees (I charge a $40 cleaning fee, cleaner charged me $115). So now I no longer want to let the $40 extra guest fee slide, and am wondering if it's possible to get money for the extra cleaning fee (unlikely I believe). 
So what do I do, do I text them stating my displeasure of the condition the apartment was left in? Asking to pay for the extra guest fee? My only worry about going this route is that if he knows I'm upset with him than he might leave a negative review as well, even though from my understanding they very much enjoyed their stay. Do I not text him and just write a negative review? If I do this do I have any chance of getting the $40 for extra guest money? 
What would you do if you were in my position? Any help would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks! 

1 Best Answer