Extra insurance or LLC?

Answered!
Barbara2243
Level 2
Blairsville, GA

Extra insurance or LLC?

I'm new to Airbnb.

I have a shipping container converted to a tiny house. My first guest in Aug.

Question being. Should I get LLC? My main concern is protection of liability.  I realize ABB has host insurance but is that enough?

Thanks, Barb

1 Best Answer
Debra300
Level 10
Gros Islet, Saint Lucia

@Barbara2243,

The Airbnb host guarantee is not an insurance, and any claims paid to a host is totally up to their discretion.  It also will not protect you from any form of liability.  I recommend that you contact your current insurance provider to get information regarding coverage for an Airbnb, and also research with other insurance companies for comparison.

I am sure experienced hosts will provide input in regards to setting up an LLC.  I didn't, but my space in Cobb County is a part of my home, and covered under my home owner's insurance.

View Best Answer in original post

16 Replies 16
Ann72
Level 10
New York, NY

@Barbara2243  God no, you have to have your own insurance!

A lot of insurance companies don't cover short-term rentals, so ask your insurance agent to find you one who does.

Thx

Yeah, having a difficult time getting covered. That is why I considered LLC. 

I'll ck again with my ins co.

Debra300
Level 10
Gros Islet, Saint Lucia

@Barbara2243.

I found this comment on Insurance.com:

"...some companies offer or even specialize in short-term rental coverage; these include Allstate HostAdvantageProper Insurance and CBIZ."

@Barbara2243  I formed an Llc and the insurance is in its name.  My agent found coverage through Merrimack Mutual.  Maybe an LLC is easier to cover?