Falsely Accused by Host about damage

Dhvani1
Level 1
Milton, Canada

Falsely Accused by Host about damage

I recently stayed at a bnb in Montreal for one night only with my boyfriend and after we left the host claimed that were damaged his sofa bed and is now asking for $900... i didn’t even know there was a sofa bed let alone use it, we didn’t even sit on the couch and he is claiming it was damaged by us which is impossible, how do I prove my innocence to airbnb, im just a student I can’t afford to be held liable for someone else’s mistakes. 

8 Replies 8
Lisa723
Level 10
Quilcene, WA

@Dhvani1 you can decline the host's request for compensation, and call or message Airbnb with your side of the story. Airbnb will make the final call but it is probably unlikely that they will charge you.

Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Dhvani1 

Did the host provided any proof of the damage and also specified how the amount charged  is calculated ? Just do as @Lisa723 wrote.

Carlos-Eduardo33
Level 2
Friesland, Netherlands

Unfortunately I’m now experiencing a similar situation. After a safety breach by the host (entering my private room without knocking) I called Airbnb and said I didn’t feel safe there. They agreed and had me transferred to a hotel for the rest of my stay.

As I was checking out, the host asked me why I was leaving and I asked her to contact Airbnb directly. She kept asking, and made a very unstable impression, which made me feel uncomfortable but at the end accepted that I didn’t want to deal with her directly.

Before I left I asked her to inspect the room and confirm everything was okay. She did so, and after her confirmation I left.

On the same evening she sent a request to pay damages at the amount of EUR 1800 (!) claiming I burnt her floor with a clothes iron.

I couldn’t believe my eyes! Never in my life have I used a clothes iron. I wear jeans with worn out t-shirts, for crying out loud. This is the most unfounded accusation.