Giving out my address

Samantha188
Level 2
Cape Town, South Africa

Giving out my address

Hi All

I have a potential booking and he has requested my address to view the guest suite this Friday.  Is this normal?

He gives me his cel number but it says (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN) then when I replied he gives me his email but it also says (EMAIL HIDDEN)

Please advise as I am new to this.

Regards

Samantha

13 Replies 13
Marzena4
Level 10
Kraków, Poland

Hello @Samantha188. This is Airbnb's way of hiding such content, so you can guess guests are NOT supposed to request such info.

// "The only person you can trust is yourself"

So now my question is how do i give him my details to view as it is a month stay.  I am really nervous giving out my address unless the person comes via AirB&B and happy to just arrive.  

What is the norm?

This is concerning to me that guests get our actual address the moment they book, yet we as hosts only get a phone number. I don't want a guest having access to where I live too long before their check-in date as it puts me and my family at risk.

Secondly, as hosts, we are now NO LONGER able to see the guest's address or email address in the Reservation Confirmation screen like we used to do. 

As a host, I am at risk if a person knows my address weeks in advance, and to simultaneously not provide me with their contact information is outrageous. The "sharing economy" only works because of mutual trust. If guests can see OUR address and full contact info from the time they book, then we as hosts should be able to see their full contact information from the moment they book.