Got my first booking.................

Anna-And-Peter0
Level 2
Rhone-Alpes, France

Got my first booking.................

Hello everyone

I am new to using Airbnb and have received my first booking, WooHoo!!!

The guest has been and gone, with no problem.  We are a B&B and therefore a lot of the hints and tips on this site do not affect us, but I have a question regarding the email received about leaving a review.

We are with another well known reservation site and have decided when we received reviews we would not reply.  We feel it can become nasty and petty if review is not to ours or their liking.  We do actually have an average of 8.7 out of 10, which we are very proud off!

Anyway, I waffle on!!  My question really is, am I obliged to leave areview about a guest who stayed for one night, perhaps a total of 12 hours????

I look forward to your help!!!

Anna

5 Replies 5
Marit-Anne0
Level 10
Bergen, Norway

You are not obliged to leave a review, but It is helpful for other hosts if you leave one.  Next time your guest might book a host home room or an apartment and not a b&b. If you were happy with your guest, just write that. I write something short like "excellent guests, highly recommended." In my latest guest review I mentioned communication issues as they did not speak any English and my Polish is rusty to put it mildly.  Reviews are "blind" - they will not see your review until they post theirs, so there is no reason anything should go nasty.  

I once stayed with a host who did not leave me a review - I will not use that place again .....

Thank you!!!

Lizzie
Former Community Manager
Former Community Manager
London, United Kingdom

Hello @Anna-And-Peter0,