Guest is lying to get refund and Airbnb is accepting!!

Carlos-and-Anita0
Level 3
Cancún, Mexico

Guest is lying to get refund and Airbnb is accepting!!

Help me guys! My husband and I have been hosting for 3 years and have not had anyone like this before. Our guest booked for a month - got a super good deal - promised to pay the electric if it was excessive and then bolted 3 weeks in. We all hung out a couple of times - the boyfriend talked a lot with my husband and the girls stayed inside all day with the air conditioning on.

After the first couple of days they had a problem at the resort we offer as a little gift to our guest. They did not follow the safety rules for the water sports and ocean and were told they were not allowed to use them any longer.

The management spoke with us and told us that they will no longer be allowing our guests to use the water sports because of them. We did not want to make them feel bad and said that the resort changed their rules. (big mistake) My husband spoke with some of the staff and they worked out a deal where these current guests only could still use them but descreetly. We explained to the guest AND i have that on text message.

21 days in they leave with no notice. I had just told them that the bill was high for the electric and we will be asking for them to pay it (it is in our house rules). Then suddenly they are gone and I have a message from airbnb saying they were having problems with their stay and would be requesting a full refund!!

Now almost 2 weeks later airbnb is saying they willbe refunding from us $268 from 900. We were not able to rent out the days they left with no notice and they are getting almost 1/3rd of their money back.