Guest requests for people not on the reservation to visit

Answered!

Guest requests for people not on the reservation to visit

Greetings,

I am new to hosting and just had a guest text me asking if her daughter-in-law and her parents could "visit" my home while the paid guest is there.  Any advice on how to reply. My rental is a house with full kitchen, and I am concerned the guest will use it for family dinners/parties. Would you advise that I say only registered guests can use the house?

Christine

Christine
1 Best Answer
Linda108
Level 10
La Quinta, CA

@Christine3190   What is your hosting situation?  Are you nearby or are you a remote host? What is your maximum length of stay?  I ask these questions to blend the feedback of both @Sarah977 and @Lorna170 .  First you need to add no unregister guests to the house rules and be sure to reinforce that in your messaging to the guest.  Secondly, if you have the ability to connect in person with the guest or have the means to be notified of other people entering the home, you might be able to flex your own rules.  Thirdly, if a guest is staying a longer time, it would not be uncommon for them to want to invite someone to the listing so you should also have the discussion with the guest.  That this guest asked in advance is a good sign about that guest.  

View Best Answer in original post

6 Replies 6
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Christine3190  Your concerns are valid and I would say no, that only registered guests are allowed. 3 more people, even if they don't have family dinners, would all be using the amenities you provide- toilet paper, towels, coffee, hot water, etc. And guests tend to take advantage when you are too easygoing. The "just an afternoon visit" turns into them staying for dinner and then, "Well, they had a bit too much to drink (or there was a snowstorm, or whatever) , so it wasn't safe for them to drive so they spent the night".