Guest trying to extort but no proof

Laila124
Level 2
Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Guest trying to extort but no proof

Hello,

My name is Laila and im pretty new to hosting. Ive had so far nothing but a dozen of 5 stars reviews, and just started experiencing the “fun part” of hosting.

Ive had a guest with only positive reviews who started complaining the minute he had checked in. Biggest of his concern being there aren't black out curtains (it was specified in the listing they weren't any). I found out that he was upset about it after I called him to check if all was fine. He didnt contact me first. Our phone conversation was basically a monologue, he was shouting, called me names, said listing was a “fraud”, threatened to leave me the lowest review possible and threatened to destroy the place if I didnt give him a refund. I was shocked. I offered him to leave with a full refund couple of hours after check in. He chose to stay!!

Nevertheless, after the call incident, Ive been nothing but nice and polite to him during his stay, as I was actually scared he would destroy the place like he said he would. I was just patiently waiting for his stay to be over in peace. I contacted Airbnb and told them everything, but they did nothing as it was a phone conversation. What I did tho, is I sent the guest on the chat a recap of our phone conversation, detailed all his threats and said it is unacceptable. His only reply to my message: “i need the wifi password”. Couple of days later, he has also apologized for “all he said” on the airbnb chat. To me, this is enough evidence to prove that indeed ive been blackmailed and threatened. Still, airbnb doing nothing about it. Is this normal for hosts to find themselves in such sitations with no support from airbnb?

16 Replies 16
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Laila124  It is  unclear what you are expecting Airbnb to do at this point.

Is the guest still in residence?

Laila124
Level 2