Guest unable to make payment to Airbnb

Peter29
Level 3
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Guest unable to make payment to Airbnb

I have a potential guest who has been trying to make payment to Airbnb in order to confirm the reservation. Apparently this has not been successful and her booking keeps getting canceled. She has offered to pay offline but I have declined. Has anyone experienced this before?

172 Replies 172

yes me too. im frustrated. this is my second time use airbnb. it used to be easy. im so so so **bleep** frustrated! 

I'm currently facing this problem. Unable to make payment. Not sure what's wrong. 

Check the post code written in your bank account. The postcode you are entering must match with the one in your bank account.

Cathy157
Level 3
Port Elizabeth, ZA

I have had a similar problem, so frustrating and because I'm still new to hosting I wanted to go all out to ease things for the guest.  I saw that booking was cancelled and when I contacted the guest (who was already en route) they didnt know about it and seemed quite distressed.  They then booked again, and this was cancelled too.  I assumed cancelled by airbnb but it could have been cancelled by the guest, I am unable to tell which it was.  They said that the amount had now been deducted from their account and begged to be allowed to stay for the planned time and then would rebook once they had been refunded and in this way i would receive my payment.  After a month of backwards and forwards I have still not received any booking from the.  Clearly I have been scammed.  My question is how do I tell whether a guest has cancelled or airbnb has cancelled the transaction.  And is there some way that these scammers (if this is what my 'guests' were) can be flagged? 

@Cathy157