Guest wanting full refund after leaving

Kate105
Level 2
Lamorna, United Kingdom

Guest wanting full refund after leaving

Hello

I am a beginner at this. Our second guest has asked for a full refund after finding dog fleas in our cottage. They only told us about it on their last night but now they want a full refund for a 5 night stay.

I wrote about this in another thread but now my question is about refunds.

I have sent a request for help from Airb&b but still haven't heard anything back. Is this normal after 24 hours?

Also I see that it is better to use the Airb&b messaging system for communicating with my guests so I have copied my recent reply on there. I really want to get this issue resolved but everyone I ask tells me that it is not reasonable to ask for a full refund for five days when the problem was not identified until the end of the holiday. I don't know what to do - I want to be fair but it also fair to me as they did have a holiday in my cottage and spent several days sight-seeing and enjoying being here.

Any advice please!  I am feeling very upset about this and don't understand the Airb&b site enough to get around it easily. What happens if I offer a partial refund?  Should I write first making an offer?  What happens if they refuse it? 

thanks in advance for your wonderful help -I know many of you are more experienced at this than I am.

Kate

8 Replies 8
Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

Hi Kate

I am sorry this has happened to you. I think if your guests didn't notify you until the last day of their holiday that there was a problem. It is unreasonable for them to be claiming a total refund.

If it was that unbearable they wouldn't have stayed all that time particularly with a young child. If I was in that situation I would have contacted you and BnB on the first day it happened and ask to be found somewhere else.

In my opinion a refund of one night would be reasonable.