Guest who booked didn’t show; but the other guest did

Answered!
Lana893
Level 2
Demossville, KY

Guest who booked didn’t show; but the other guest did

Hi there! I’ve been hosting since May 2022 so I’m definitely a newbie. I am currently in a situation where someone booked with four additional guests. He provided the names of the guests when I asked. I checked with them after two days to see if everything was going OK and let him know I would like to meet him because I was out of town when they first arrived. The person who made the reservation said to me oh I wasn’t able to make it but the other people are responsible. I don’t think he was even going to tell me he didn’t make the trip for the stay if I hadn’t reached out to see how things were going. They will be checking out tomorrow morning so I will see how they left our space. Hopefully everything is OK. We post our house rules and the checkout information in a laminated sheet and put on the refrigerator so there’s no reason why the guests can’t find the information. I guess my main concern is that the person who made the reservation didn’t show and didn’t bother to let me know. Any suggestions? I mean how do you leave a review for someone who wasn’t even there?

1 Best Answer
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Lana893 Number 1 do not make a fuss or you will get a bad review. No amount of fuss will change the risk profile now. Secondly leave an honest review. If the guest broke the rules on 3rd party bookings and didn't tell you then say so - This will warn future hosts. 

View Best Answer in original post

7 Replies 7
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Lana893 Number 1 do not make a fuss or you will get a bad review. No amount of fuss will change the risk profile now. Secondly leave an honest review. If the guest broke the rules on 3rd party bookings and didn't tell you then say so - This will warn future hosts. 

@Mike-And-Jane0 good advice 👍🏻