Guests who break rules should not get to review!

Jamaal1
Level 10
Elk Grove, CA

Guests who break rules should not get to review!

Every bad review I have is due to me confronting a guest that has broken the rules. Usually the review complains about lack of privacy or me not being accommodating. Why should someone who has broken the rules and been kicked out, be allowed to leave a retaliation review? Anyone who breaks a serious rule, should be penalized and not allowed to leave a review! Airbnb can make rules levels, where hosts can say which ones are intolerable.

49 Replies 49
Linda108
Level 10
La Quinta, CA

There are several discussion threads that address this very concern.  You might find them interesting.  Most hosts would agree.

agree if they receive 2 demerit/cancellation  points. and cancel must be straight forward rejection.

Hi I am new at this and don’t understand fully how it works. I have a similar situation where I requested funds for damages because of my guests breaking the rules and now I’m been penalized for it.

You will get your damages back as Airbnb is good with that. But, the guest will be allowed to leave a review, which usally isn’t good! Did they leave you a negative review? 

Yes she did as a result I may loose my super host status I work so hard for. 

I don't think you will lose your super host status.  I haven't, after guests say my bathroom is filthy as an excuse to cancel and get a refund.  Air Bnb seems wise to these wise-crackers.

Andrea-and-Francis0
Level 10
Mississauga, Canada

I am with you, it's definitely not fair they get to leave a review after breaking your house rules & some we have had to evict because it was so bad. These horrible guests accounts should be closed by Airbnb to prevent repeat behaviour with other hosts.