Guests

Answered!
Rawlda0
Level 2
Saint David, Grenada

Guests

Hi, My name is Rawlda, I am relatively new to Airbnb.  I have a couple of questions:

1.  My current guest arrived to start her stay and announced she has 2 suitcases of laundry she needs to do during her stay.  She was previously at a local hotel and had no access to laundry services there.  While I have no objection to her doing laundry accumulated during her stay I object to her arriving to start her stay with this intention.  I have advised that there will be an additional charge for this.  We have to pay a huge premium for electricity.  It would be very interesting to hear if anyone has had this issue and the approach taken.  Would very much appricate responses
  2.  Guest having very little regard for security issues.  Despite having a security system in place, she would often go out and not engage the sysyem.  I have raised this with her however the issue remains .  Although we are residing in a relatively low crime society, the threat of breaking and entering exists.  My insurance company will refuse to honour a claim if the property was accessed and it is proven that the security system was not armed.  
1 Best Answer
Huma0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

@Rawlda0I would also object to a guest arriving with lots of laundry to do. It has happened to me too. You are right to ask for an additional fee for this or politely direct her to the local laundrette if there is one. You are not running a free laundrette and she would not get this for free at a hotel either.

If you have not done so already, I suggest you include something in your house rules about both laundry and security/alarms so that future guests hopefully understand this before arriving. They might not bother reading the rules, but you have this as back up should you need to contact Airbnb about it.