Host canceled question

Answered!

Host canceled question

Hi Community,

NooB here on AirBnB, so sorry for the stupid question 🙂

We have been looking at many places to stay and sometimes we see 

"The host canceled this reservation ..... before arrival"

With the extreme being "The host canceled this reservation the day before arrival."

Now I have a question about this, if this is going to happen and you have (Non-Refundable) Airplane tickets, ongoing travel arrangements etc etc to the place where you are going to stay what is going to happen ! Finding a new room on such short notice must be a nightmare especially if you are going in High Season !

A little bit worried about this so thanks for any insights !

Thx

M&M

1 Best Answer
Linda108
Level 10
La Quinta, CA

As a traveler on Air BNB, I was also concerned about the potential for cancellation for the reasons you cite, @Michael992.  The cancellation notice is an automated posting with no explanation as to why the cancellation.  For me, the only acceptable reasons are under the extenuating circumstance policy which include personal illness or problems with the listing such as loss of power or weather related circumstances.  However, if any of those reasons occur, the host cancellation penalties are not assess.

As a traveler there are two things you can and should do to protect your plans.  First you should get travel insurance because there are your circumstances that will interfere with your plans.  Second, when searching for a place, use the filter for Super Host as a host cannot have a cancellation within a year of meeting Super Host criteria.  

Of course, you should always contact Air BNB for help with relocation if the host cancels, especially if there is little warning.  You should have a phone number for contacting Air BNB on your reservation confirmation.  Hope this helps

View Best Answer in original post

33 Replies 33
Vanessa-and-Kurt0
Level 10
Farmington, CT