Host harassing me after leaving negative review

Sarah3260
Level 1
San Diego, CA

Host harassing me after leaving negative review

I recently stayed at an Airbnb the end of Jan. The house was less than stellar and the host was actually violating his permit with the City by having more occupants than he is allowed. After confronting him and leaving a negative review, he looked me up and found my business I own on Yelp and left me a fake negative review. He didn't even try to hide the fact it was him, used his real name. 

Obviously I contacted Yelp and they are refusing to remove the review. I have contacted Airbnb also regarding the host, it seems there are no consequences for a host doing something like this?

What would you do? I've talked to a lawyer and was recommended to sue him for libel and implicate yelp in the lawsuit.

4 Replies 4
Rowena29
Level 10
Australia

I'm not a lawyer @Sarah3260 but if you want your Yelp review taken down I suspect that might be your only recourse.  Or you could just reply briefly, factually, diplomatically to his review so it was clear to other users what is going on.

I dont' agree with this hosts behaviour, but I suspect it's going to be as hard for you to remove his review from Yelp and it is for him to remove your review from airbnb.

Personally I would have tried to be a little more diplomatic in my reivew of this host, but that's not my business and I didnt' stay there, not have your experience.

I can certainly understand why airbnb CS is not going to get involved in this however.

good luck sorting this out and keep us posted

Emilia42
Level 10
Orono, ME

@Sarah3260