Host not responding after promising cancellation refund and customer service fails

Han1
Level 2
New York, NY

Host not responding after promising cancellation refund and customer service fails

Hello everyone,

This is my first time using this forum, but I would really appareciate any advice on my current situation.

I have been very frustrated over the last few days, and I sent this email earlier today to Aisling Hassell, head of customer experience, and cc'ed Brian Chesky, the CEO, which summed up my case nicely:

Dear Ms. Hassell,

My name is Harry **, a journalism grad student who is interning in Washington D.C. this summer. I recently used Airbnb for a long-term reservation, and it has become very frustrating that I am not even sure if I could get the refund I rightfully deserve. The customer service opened an investigation two days ago but has not offered me any update.

For your reference, this email concerns the confirmation code ***. I booked my stay in mid-May with the host for 71 nights, from June 3 to August 13 for the grand total of $2,450. I was immediately charged $1,058 for the first 30 days after the confirmation. It all fine until the end of May, when the host suddenly texted me that there is loud construction noise next door and proposed me look elsewhere and cancel the reservation with no penalty. I told her that my trip was only a few days away and that any change of plan would be extremely inconvenient. She then replied that I could stay and I can cancel at any point without penalty because of the construction noise. The host has moderate cancelation policy listed under the listing, but it becomes long term automatically because it was over 30 days.