Host refusing to honor the reservation or to follow the proper process to cancel

Answered!
Grégory44
Level 2
Brussels, Belgium

Host refusing to honor the reservation or to follow the proper process to cancel

Hi everyone.

I'm new to AirBnB (first time making a reservation) and I have a problem.

1 - I make a reservation for this summer. The reservation is accepted, and confirmed. And the money is taken out of my credit card (100% of the price).

2 - Later, the host start sending me messages (on AirBNB & by mail) saying : He made a mistake. He usually rent the place for one month for a larger price. His wife forgot to change the price. They made renovations since then. And finally when I ask him what he proposes he asks me to delete the reservation saying that he cannot rent it anymore and that he won't be in the city.

Obviously he's not really telling me the truth

After searching for what to do in such a case, I have found this link that has the information about what to do in a situation like this one https://www.airbnb.com/help/article/1250/what-should-i-do-if-my-host-needs-to-cancel

I have followed the exact instructions from this link, to the letter. As a result, a message was sent to the host (by the system) for confirmation that he will not be able to receive me. But instead of confirming it, the host cancelled it. 

So now, the host is not willing to give me access to the location. And he refuses to follow the correct process for cancellation (he said "he miscliked"). And the money money has been taken out of my credit card.

I really need help, ideally from someone from AirBnB or good advice about what to do in such a situation. Thank you in advance.

1 Best Answer
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Grégory44 I'm not sure what you mean about the host cancelling a confirmation that the host will not be able to receive you. What the host would have received is a system message which they can accept or decline, not "cancel".