Hosting rules/restrictions in Columbia Maryland

Yasi0
Level 1
Columbia, MD

Hosting rules/restrictions in Columbia Maryland

Dear experienced hosts, I am new to hosting in Columbia Maryland, so I would like to know if I need to register my property with anyone before hosting. Is there any regulation or restriction on short term rental (STR) or airbnb listings that I should be aware of? Your help is appreciated in advance! 

16 Replies 16
Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

Hi @Yasi0

You will need to contact your local government for any area regulations.

If you rent you will need to check your lease (most don't allow short term lets)

If you have a lease you will need with the property owners/association.

Angie109
Level 2
Maryland, United States

Hi Yasi,

I'm in Howard county as well. Do you have any follow up information on this? Did you find out what laws apply to AirBNB's in HoCo? Does your HOA approve of this? I would appreciate any information on this.  Thank you. 

Hello, did you ever find out what the rules are in HOCO or with Columbia Association?

Xiaowei1
Level 1
Ellicott City, MD

Any updates in Howard County? 

Does anyone have details on the Howard County, MD rues for AirBnB, or lack thereof?

Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

Usually they put information on their website. Is it not available there @Herman145 

The Howard County website is silent on AirBnB - thus the question.

Does anyone have details on the Howard County Requirements (if any)? 

Silence is fine and preferred - just want to verify.

I know for a fact the shortest short term stay allowed in Howard County MD is 30 days or more.  Renting in Maryland you must have a rental license.  If a neighbor or anyone, reports you anonymously or not, a Howard inspector will require you to get a rental license and will require you to not list on the short term rental websites for less than 30 days.