House Manual - Online v's hardcopy

Natasha390
Level 2
Oxshott, United Kingdom

House Manual - Online v's hardcopy

Hi,

I'm in the process of writing the manual for my airbnb property and was wondering if anyone had any experience with offering an online manual instead of a written hardcopy?

As I build websites for a living it would be easy for me to produce a personal, online guide for our guests but I wasn't sure if guests would prefer a written manual or not? I like to think an online version would allow them to access information prior to their trip, so they can plan accordingly, and have it with them when they're out and about exploring the local area.

I personally prefer being able to access information via my smartphone, so I'm leaning towards this, but wanted to know if anyone had done anything similar and what their experience was?

Many thanks

26 Replies 26
Jim472
Level 10
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Do both, let them choose. Easy to create on the computer and and keep it as a pdf that is open whenever a guest checks in. Tell them that most their questions can be answered in it. Plus have different translations available based on nationally. Easy to cut and paste into airbnb platform with the caveat, refer to desktop if they want screenshots. Oh and print out a copy for something to stick in the coffee table. 

Gordon0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

If you've decided you'll only target the computer-savvy, always-online demographic then fine, go with an online version, @Natasha390.

If you think (like many of us) some guests will rock up without a smartphone/laptop/tablet (or suffer connection issues), a hard-copy will mean a) you don't get loads of questions and b) people don't biff you in their rating because they had to hunt for stuff.

There's also the basics, like wifi codes, where the rubbish goes and so on, so it's either a hard-copy manual or 'attractive' stickers/notes everywhere.