How do taxes work if I'm a member based in the U.S. but hosting an apartment in Australia?

Jennifer243
Level 1
New York, NY

How do taxes work if I'm a member based in the U.S. but hosting an apartment in Australia?

Hi all,

I am new to hosting and have some questions about taxes.

I've been a guest on Airbnb and my account is verified with my U.S. number and other information. I've recently hosted an apartment in Melbourne, Australia under my account with a bank transfer to my Australian bank account as a payout method. All of my costs and income are done in Australian dollars. My question is - should I still fill out US tax forms on Airbnb? Or should I just focus on paying income taxes in Australia? 

Thanks!

Jennifer

5 Replies 5
David126
Level 10
Como, CO

US residents are taxed on world wide income.

David
Lawrene0
Level 10
Florence, Canada

@Jennifer243: Quoting the IRS: "If you are a U.S. citizen or resident alien, you must report income from all sources within and outside of the U.S." Also there is a harsh bit a little further down on the Income From Abroad page: "Not reporting income from foreign sources may be a crime." 

Found it at https://www.irs.gov/businesses/income-from-abroad-is-taxable. I am familiar with it because of family US/Canada reporting. Works for Australia, though, too.

Hope that helps. 

Thanks Lawrene. But does your family have to report taxes again in Australia? 

The thing is - 

I hold a US green card and live in New York. I host an apartment in Melbourne, Australia under my Airbnb account because I am familiar with the interface. But the legal owner of the property is my brother who is a student there and has nothing to do with the US. But all of the expenses (utilities, internet) are paid for with an Australian banking account under my name and the rent is going in there as well is AUD. I am trying to avoid paying taxes in both countries. I would love your advice if possible.

Thank you again.