How do you respond to requests for discounts?

Answered!
Mylinh0
Level 3
San Diego, CA

How do you respond to requests for discounts?

I'm new to hosting and have spent a lot of time reading the discussions here, so thanks for all your wisdom and experience.  

I've noticed something so far (in my 2-3 weeks in this game) that I wanted to get other people's thoughts on.  I've gotten several inquiries that didn't go anywhere, which I figure is par for the course and just move on.  But I did get an inquiry angling for a discount.  I was hesitant to offer it, because being new, we're priced competitively for the area, and because the person was looking to book in the summer, which is a popular time for the area.

The whole exchange did make me think, were those inquiries that didn't end up booking looking for me to offer them a discount, and since I didn't, they booked elsewhere?

So, I wanted to find out from the community:

1) Do you get a lot of inquiries asking about discounts?  

2) How do you address them?  Do you usually say ok to get the booking, especially if you're new, like me?  

3) If someone makes an inquiry about your space, but doesn't mention a discount, do you offer them a discount anyway to encourage them to book?

1 Best Answer
Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

Hi @Mylinh0

Just price your accommodation so it's great value for your area and competitive with what similar properties in your area are offering. Airbnb give you a boost in the listsing when you start, so that will help drive traffic to your listing.

Don't use Airbnb's smart pricing - it's way off kilter.

You might want to offer a small discount for longer term stays ie a week or month (although I find longer term guests more expensive and more work).