How often do you really get "bad eggs"

Heather1103
Level 2
Ann Arbor, MI

How often do you really get "bad eggs"

Hello! This is my first time posting and I actually haven't even listed my property yet.  We have just started the process of purchasing a lake house and we're planning on doing just a few bookings a year to help with some costs. My question is,  I see some scary stories of guests being aggressive, having parties, not being respectful of property and then airbnb not following through with help when these issues arise.  

Just looking for some experiences on how often you've actually gotten such a bad guest and is there really not much help for us when that happens.  

48 Replies 48
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Heather1103 I would work on the following basis

1) Hosts having a bad time are highly likely to advertise it if only to get help from the community. Hosts having a good time are highly unlikely to come to the community and crow about it (although one or two do)

2) You are responsible for your own destiny. You can reduce your risk by

a) Not allowing Instant Book especially if you do not live on-site

b) Have a minimum stay of a week or so (definitely do not allow one nighters)

c) If you do not live on-site then invest in cameras for the outside to monitor guests arrival

d) Charge a sensible rate for what you will provide - Do not lowball the pricing or you may lowball the guests

e) Do not leave personal stuff especially with sentimental value in the property

f) Be prepared to remove guests at the first sight of trouble - Thinking ahead as to how you will do this in your jurisdiction is key

g) Do not allow guests to become tenants

I am sure fellow hosts will add to the list - For what its worth we do allow instant book and have a 3 night minimum stay but we also live next door to our holiday flat!