I'm new at this

Juliette252
Level 2
Vancouver, WA

I'm new at this

I'm really curious of what kind of house rules people post in their homes and what other things I should have posted for my guests. Would anyone be willing to reply with ideas or even a photo of yours that I can read as an example? I really appreciate any advice. 

Thank you

13 Replies 13
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Juliette252 You can click on any host's profile here and go to their listings and read their house rules.

The pretty common ones are no parties or events, no unregistered guests allowed on the property, no smoking (sometimes anywhere on the property, sometimes only outside), no pets, no infants ( Airbnb ridiculously classifies 0-2 years old as "infant" when anyone who has been around children knows that a 2 year old is totally different than a 2 month old when it comes to the potential for damages or a mess), not suitable for children under 12.

But some hosts do allow pets, and children, and smoking, some hosts have pools or hot tubs they need to post rules about, so it really depends on what you are offering and want to cater to. 

And some long-time hosts have beefed up their house rules list as time goes on and experiences have shown them that what one would assume is common sense is in short supply when it comes to rental guests.

I have a home-share listing and only host one guest at a time, so I have almost no rules aside from no parties and no pets. It's not like people can do outrageous things in my house without me being aware of it.

@Juliette252  Your House Rules become part of a binding contract with the guests when a booking is confirmed, so they should contain every condition that needs to be disclosed prior to booking, and ones that are serious enough to enforce.