Information needed please

Information needed please

I'm fairly new to Airbnb and am wondering if someone can help me out with answering my questions.

I've had people book and some of them I've had to approve their stay and others were already approved and I was notified by Airbnb that they were coming to stay. Is it something under settings that I need to adjust and if so, can you tell me where this is? Do I want to approve each guest?  Which is best and why? 

So far after each guest, something is missing. It has been something like a bath towel, hand towel, kitchen towel, wash cloth, coffee mug, etc. Is this just the cost of doing business? How do you handle this or do you not address it? 

Last week we had a guest stay and they clearly had a pet with them. We are a no pet guest house. How do you handle this? 

Today after our guests left, it was very clear they had been smoking pot. We are a no smoking guest house and especially are not happy about the smell of marijuana. How do you handle this? 

Sorry for all the questions. Thanks in advance and I'll look forward to reading your responses. I appreciate your help as I learn to navigate Airbnb! I can't believe how much I've learned about people in such a short amount of time!

6 Replies 6
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Kate2019 

Instant Book provides you with guests wihtout your approval:

https://www.airbnb.com/help/article/1510/how-to-use-instant-book

Missing (small) items are the costs of doing this kind of business

Guest should not violate your policies like no pets, no smoking.

I  always remind guests to read all information in the listing and houserules before they book.

But i am not (and never was) on Instant Book.

@Emiel1 ,  Thank you! I turned off Instant Book for now.  I appreciate your note. 

Colleen253
Level 10
Alberta, Canada