Inquiry asking to see my Airbnb rental prior to booking a long term stay.

Inquiry asking to see my Airbnb rental prior to booking a long term stay.

I just received an Inquiry asking to see my Airbnb rental prior to booking a long term stay.  I feel hesitant to allow for this, for safety reasons.    There is a 5.o avg rating, 27 reviews from 2020 through 2021 and Identity has been verified.  That being said, I'm somewhat new to hosting and this hasn't come up before.   

I could use some feedback or even advice in this regard.  Why should I or why shouldn't I?

3 Replies 3

Never mind, but thanks.  I just found help with this through Airbnb.

Lorna170
Level 10
Swannanoa, NC

@Nancy1280 @Other hosts may disagree, but I have found that allowing a viewing rarely leads to a rental, and is a waste of time for my housekeeper and an additional expense to me.  I have excellent pictures, an accurate description and good reviews. That should be enough.  

As an aside, I do not recommend using Airbnb for long term rentals. 

Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Nancy1280  While I can understand a guest wanting to check a place out before committing to a long term booking, there is really no advantage to you allowing this, and it's a security risk for you. It's essentially opening your door to a total stranger, who has made no commitment.

The guest might be a thief who is using this strategy to take a look at what might be worth stealing, entry and exit points. Or they will try to get you to rent to them off-platform, so they can avoid the Airbnb fees. I've read posts from hosts who had allowed pre-viewings, but stopped. They wasted hours of time with these lookie-loos, who never went on to book.

Just tell the guest that you don't allow viewings, that they should be able to get a good idea of what is on offer by the photos, listing info and reviews, and that you'll be happy to answer any other questions they might have.