Is there a way to create a test booking?

Clinton17
Level 2
Puerto Morelos, Mexico

Is there a way to create a test booking?

Hi,

I have some hotel experience and just like some of the big hotel franchises I want to automate as much as possible the mundane behind the scenes stuff. The technology might fail, but I need to make sure that my automation logic is working as it should and handling the exceptions as it should.

We are about to list our place in Cancun, and I'm surprised that Airbnb doesn't offer a "Test Mode", where I can make several bookings and then make sure I test the various scenarios.

The biggest thing is testing the August Smart Lock integration, but I want to do end-to-end which involves IFTTT (If this, then that) to automate the things which might get forgotten, and in many cases is what IFTTT and Zapier were created to do.

Initially, I was thinking of creating bookings at $1 per night, but after some consideration, I could see that possibly turning into a nightmare.

Does anyone know if Airbnb offers any "test mode" or if there are tricks or tips on how to do it without having someone see (for example) a $1 per night booking and snap it up?  Thanks.

7 Replies 7
Letti0
Level 10
Atascosa, TX

There is no test mode it's a live listing or not and the least you can charge per night on AirBnB is $10 per night. Had a few friends or family members test it out before going live at no charge, actually stay there yourself for a few nights. I did this. Found one or two issues I needed to correct and when I went live I was fine. One issue was a not having a sewing kit as I had a loose button on a dress, the other was no baby monitor for a friend that wanted to hang out on the patio with family and leave her baby inside sleeping. I have added both. 

Ariel10
Level 3
Orlando, FL

There is not a way to do a test on your listing