Leaving review to guest

Tad162
Level 1
North Salt Lake, UT

Leaving review to guest

I have been hosting through Airbnb since Dec2019 and this is a first time I need to leave a bad review.

Here are the things happened with last guests:

1. Made reservation for two but middle of the night increased to 4 without letting me know.
  2. Used guest network to download movie from P2P file sharing (which I get an email from my internet provider that it is violating copyrights). When I inquired him about it through messaging, he simply ignored my message. (I do have a log from my router for proof)
  3. Whatever guests used for skin lotion/moisturizer permanently stained sheets, towel (I had to throw it away.
  4. They keep most of the trash in trashcan however, there were few stuffs still left everywhere

How should I leave a review being professional yet making sure that future host will see and know what could potentially happen?

11 Replies 11
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Tad162  Just leave general , brief comments, rather than details. A bit of trash strewn around, if it was generally left clean, is no big deal, some guests are just messier than others. Comes with the territory. Maybe something like " Extra, unbooked guests snuck in during the night, did not respond to messages, linens stained beyond salvaging. Unfortunately, cannot recommend."

And thank you for wanting to warn other hosts. Too many hosts are reticent to be honest when it comes to poor guest behavior. As a non-IB host, I cannot see guest star ratings- we rely on written reviews.

If you haven't already, really research stain removal methods- if the correct product is used, most stains will come out. I've read that acne medication is one that seems to permanently stain, though.