My booking has been cancelled and I'm not sure why

Saran34
Level 2
Chennai, India

My booking has been cancelled and I'm not sure why

Hello, my name is Saran and I'm from India, I made a Booking in Dundee, Scotland and all of a sudden it has been cancelled, is there any way to retrieve it back? I'll be loosing a lot of money if this happens and I'm a student and I can't afford to loose it, can someone please help me out with this?

12 Replies 12
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Saran34 

Who cancelled the booking: The host or Airbnb ? And do you know the reason ?

It normally can not be reversed, as there will  be a good reason to cancel it, unless there was a  system error. But you should get a full refund.

Best regards,

Emiel

The host has no idea why it was cancelled, and even I don't have any idea why. Probably Airbnb should have cancelled but I'm not sure why, I sent them a message through their help center but I haven't recieved any message so far 

Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

what did the host/airbnb say when you contacted them about it @Saran34 ?

Was it cancelled because you chose to pay in two stages and for some reason the second half of the payment didn’t go through?

No I paid the whole amount up front, and the host has no idea why this happened, I tried sending a message to the Airbnb help center but there has been no response so far

Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

There is no point messaging Airbnb - get on the phone and be prepared to wait a bit for them to answer.

Airbnb would normally only cancel a booking because of non payment, security issues or if a host raised concerns about your booking not  meeting say Covid legislation such as quarantine. @Saran34 

The problem is I tried calling them but because of this covid-19 I could talk to someone only 72 hours prior to my check in, is there any other contact number I could try?

Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom