New Zealand tax

David543
Level 1
Geraldine, New Zealand

New Zealand tax

As a new Airbnb host in New Zealand I want to hear comments from Kiwi hosts in regards to submissions of Airbnb earnings for IRD purposes.

35 Replies 35
Tracy87
Level 1
Christchurch, New Zealand

I am new to this too and was wondering the same - I have had a look at rental income on the IRD website and by the sounds of it you must claim your rental income in your tax return. It doesn't advise how much will be taxed and it doesn't give much information. It is focused more on flatmates in rental situations... 

Michelle375
Level 1
Cambridge, New Zealand

Hi apparently if your expenses are high for the first year and you run at a loss, you can only claim the number of days you had visitors, anyone else got any advise on their tax for NZ, what you can claim on etc?

Yes. Claim only for days you have guests. 

Also claim for the area of the house guests use in respect to rates / insurance etc but again only for guest days.  

Your accountant will advise. 

I received advice that the apportionment of expenses for occupancy rate is not related to the days booked, but rather the days the room was available for bookings.

Some times of year bookings are slower, others they come thick and fast. There are days in between bookings for room cleaning/guest turnaround and so on. All of these days incur expenses despite not generating income on that day.

I guess you will run into problems if you are only a casual host and only occasionally accept bookings when it suits your private life. In that case it may be appropriate to only claim expenses based on days occupied.

The situation is slightly different for a Mixed Use Asset with more than 62 days empty a year (by empty I mean totally empty such as in the case of a holiday home that is rented out for part of the year, privately used for part of the year and empty part of the year).