Hi All,

I am new to AirBNB, my host is Verified and has 411 reviews.  He is asking to communicate via whatsapp instead of through AirBnB.  Is that normal?  I see all the warning signs about communicating only through AirBnB. But due to his verified status and reviews, I am wondering if I should communicate there?  Thanks!

26 Replies

Re: New to AirBNB - Communication via Whatsapp

in
South Korea
Level 10

@Melissa346 

If a guest wants to communicate thru IM I say "sure but I"m going to repeat or copy+paste everything onto the Airbnb messenger as proof - are you okay with this?" and everyone has been till now. 

I actually get why people don't want to use the Airbnb app messenger...... cause it's sh***y and in my case, for some reason the pings are always late (anywhere from a couple mins to half an hour). 

in
Mexico
Level 3

I like that idea

in
Australia
Level 1

I have just started travelling around South America and every Airbnb hosts asks to communicate through whatsapp for some reason. It hasn’t been a problem, but I actually find the Airbnb app better because it has a built in translator which makes it much easier than whatsapp. It is a little strange they all ask the same thing though?

Level 1

Estimados,tengo un problema que solucionar por error de liquidez en tarjeta de debito.

Por favor necesito que me habiliten nuevamente

el alojamiento  de " la huerta " de Maldonado,Uruguay. 

Mi nombre es Jorge Mena  +59896103424

in
Santiago, Chile
Level 2

Hello, on March 20, I made the cancellation of a reservation in Barcelona, I received the confirmation, because even today I do not have a refund, I have made several complaints and notices of this and still no solution, I find the attention very bad and little serious, I need to tell me something about it -

in
Sayulita, Mexico
Level 10