New to AirBNB - Communication via Whatsapp

Jonathan383
Level 1
Yorba Linda, CA

New to AirBNB - Communication via Whatsapp

Hi All,

I am new to AirBNB, my host is Verified and has 411 reviews.  He is asking to communicate via whatsapp instead of through AirBnB.  Is that normal?  I see all the warning signs about communicating only through AirBnB. But due to his verified status and reviews, I am wondering if I should communicate there?  Thanks!

28 Replies 28

@Melissa346 

If a guest wants to communicate thru IM I say "sure but I"m going to repeat or copy+paste everything onto the Airbnb messenger as proof - are you okay with this?" and everyone has been till now. 

I actually get why people don't want to use the Airbnb app messenger...... cause it's sh***y and in my case, for some reason the pings are always late (anywhere from a couple mins to half an hour). 

I like that idea

John4382
Level 1
Australia

I have just started travelling around South America and every Airbnb hosts asks to communicate through whatsapp for some reason. It hasn’t been a problem, but I actually find the Airbnb app better because it has a built in translator which makes it much easier than whatsapp. It is a little strange they all ask the same thing though?

Estimados,tengo un problema que solucionar por error de liquidez en tarjeta de debito.

Por favor necesito que me habiliten nuevamente

el alojamiento  de " la huerta " de Maldonado,Uruguay. 

Mi nombre es Jorge Mena  +59896103424

Patricio132
Level 2
Santiago, Chile

Hello, on March 20, I made the cancellation of a reservation in Barcelona, I received the confirmation, because even today I do not have a refund, I have made several complaints and notices of this and still no solution, I find the attention very bad and little serious, I need to tell me something about it -