New to AirBNB - Communication via Whatsapp

Jonathan383
Level 1
Yorba Linda, CA

New to AirBNB - Communication via Whatsapp

Hi All,

I am new to AirBNB, my host is Verified and has 411 reviews.  He is asking to communicate via whatsapp instead of through AirBnB.  Is that normal?  I see all the warning signs about communicating only through AirBnB. But due to his verified status and reviews, I am wondering if I should communicate there?  Thanks!

28 Replies 28
Sandra126
Level 10
Daylesford, Australia

Ask him on the Air platform why he prefers that? Always best to stick with Air for a record of the discussion. Though I usually ask confirmed guests to use my mobile directly if they need me urgently.

Cristina681
Level 1
Florianópolis, Brazil

Hi Jonathan, I know WhatApp is not very popular here in the States but where I am from Brazil is used as a way of communicating way more then regular phone messages. Anyways hope it helps

@Jonathan383 I guess I would ask him why he wants to use WhatsApp instead of the AirBnB messaging system.

I can understand wanting to have WhatsApp *in addition to* the AirBnB messaging system, but if he wants to *avoid* the AirBnB messaging system, then I would be concerned.

He would need to have an excellent explanation, as really the AirBnB messaging system is the only really acceptable way of documenting what the host and guest say to each other.

David2749
Level 2
Leesburg, VA

I just received the same type of message requesting to use WhatsApp.

@David2749  I would tell the host you're comfortable with the AirBnB messaging system. You do not have the app and do want to install it on your phone. 

Kezza0
Level 2
Nairobi, Kenya