Newbie here. Bad review for smell

Bertha62
Level 2
Guadalajara, Mexico

Newbie here. Bad review for smell

I’m new to hosting, and got a bad review for smell of marijuana (no smoking allowed at the house), so I don’t really know what to do.

Here are the specifics:

When guest num.1 checked out, I went to the place to clean it. Felt a slight smell, couldn’t say of what... asked my husband, he disregarded it, so Didn’t think of it again. Cleaned the place and left it ready for guest 2. Gave guest 1 a 5-star rate, they gave me 5-stars back. Everything was fine.

When guest number 2 checked out, I cleaned the place, gave a 5-star rating and was surprised to receive a 3-star back, along with a review stating that the smell of marijuana was unbearable, and even gave a 1-star for value because of that. (This guest is also a host, according to Airbnb).

I’m literally 5 days old in this business, so I don’t know what to do. I know this 3-star rating is going to hurt, and if guest num 1 really did smoke in the house it goes against my house rules but I’ve already given 5stars... 

Please advise me.

10 Replies 10
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Bertha62 A few thoughts

1) You must respond to the poor review carefully as this is what people looking to book will see. If you post the review text that you got people will suggest how to reply. Key is to be honest and not come across as being in denial of an issue.

2) A few 5 star reviews will get your average up to a reasonable level fairly quickly

I kind of panicked and answered already.

Here is the text, for feedback anyway, that way I can learn from my mistakes:

Their review:

Cute property with fruit trees and a trampoline. Plenty of space to play and roam outside. The creek is especially cute.

Unfortunately the smell of marijuana made it nearly unbearable to be in the house.

My answer:

I am very sorry and apologize for the bad experience with smell at the house.