Not all Guests "Read" the house rules and appliance operation instructions!

David4245
Level 3
Los Angeles, CA

Not all Guests "Read" the house rules and appliance operation instructions!

I am new to hosting but I am getting a jar full of lessons learned everyday as my house has stayed constantly booked since I listed it. All my guests so far have been great, respectful, and clean, with some minor glitches; a blood stain on a comforter, and dog poop on the property. Dogs are not allowed so we know someone snuck a dog in.  Just don't know who. The house is in a hot and dry area currently under a high fire hazard so our rule book indicates No Fires in the Fire Pit May thru October. But we noticed burned logs in the fire pit in July. I don't believe that people are always breaking the rules knowingly, but more so just not reading the house rules! We have them posted on the listing and there is a rule book in the house. Are we doing something wrong? How do we get the guests to take the time to read the rules?

Thanks

7 Replies 7
Kenneth12
Level 10
Chicago, IL

Cameras are your friend:  at every entrance and covering outdoor areas such as that fire pit.

Yadira22
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

Yes 

@David4245 please just be mindful to disclose these in your listing beforehand. Otherwise, Airbnb has been known to take down listings if they don’t. Good luck to you 🙂

@David4245 :  note that there's a section in Amenities "things guests must know" concerning surveillance devices,  with a small text box;  I also list them in the description and under House Rules.

Rowena29
Level 10
Australia

Hi @David4245 

Getting guests to read the house rules is a perennial problem most hosts experience - at least sometimes.

Also, I would suggest that as your  location seems remote and you are a remote host, that some of your guests probably HAVE  read your rules, but as you and no one much else is about, have gone ahead and done as they pleased