Not sure how to review guest. Please help.

Julie3684
Level 3
Washougal, WA

Not sure how to review guest. Please help.

Hi, I'm fairly new to this -opened in August and have been fortunate enough to be pretty busy. And maybe I've been really lucky with my previous guests so my expectations are too high.  We recently had a family of 4 (husband, wife, 2 littles) who booked last minute,  2 hours before check-in wanting a quick little getaway. She had four 5 star reviews on her profile and I didn't hesitate to accept.  There was no actual damage, but several things were moved and not put back, toddler used guest book as a scribble pad on several pages - one page would have been cute. (Also, side note- there is a separate tablet provided for notes, etc),  lots of little white crumbs or tiny bean bag stuffing? in kids bedroom on floor and under twin beds,  check-out instructions not followed ( I ask that garbage is moved to outside cans right outside door and start dishwasher) , pan left soaking in the sink,  and skid marks on master bedroom sheets😖.  I thought maybe they didn't see checkout instructions, but guest/doodle book was sitting on top of instruction page in Welcome book.   Am I overreacting or is this typical 5 star stuff? Not sure how she's rated so high previously. How would you rate?

7 Replies 7
Helen427
Level 10
Auckland, New Zealand

Hi @Julie3684 and welcome to ABB CC across the miles in Auckland, New Zealand.

Some of those things you have mentioned are extremely personal, how would you feel if someone wrote the same things about you if you were the guest, and they the host?

I'd be inclined to write feedback in The Private feedback part of Reviews if at all.

Perhaps rank them down in cleanliness for failing to adhere to your Check out instructions.

Children, don't you love them to draw over things?

Some people are better at disciplinary action from a young age than others.

Have you got a chalk/ blackboard in your listing