Partial refund after cancellation

Hazel42
Level 2
Weymouth, United Kingdom

Partial refund after cancellation

Hi there

I am very new to airbnb so am a little unsure about this. I have a 'strict' cancellation policy. A guest made a booking for a few weeks hence and we had a few emails backwards and forwards chit chatting, everything was ok.

Then out of the blue they said they wanted to cancel (it was still weeks away at this point). I said how disappointed I was and tried everything possible to offer alternate dates, and discounts but he was adamant he wanted to cancel so I said unfortunately they would have to do it from their end as I didn't want to be penalised.

The guest then kicked off about the cancellation policy saying it was outrageous that they would lose 50% even though the booking was weeks away.

After lots of emails (where I remained polite at all times) I finally caved in and said if the weekend got rebooked I would refund all their money bar £50.

One of the days rebooked but the other didn't.

The guest is now asking for the rest of the refund. I have replied to say the money actually takes a few days to arrive in my account and I also want to make sure the second booking does not cancel or leave early.

I have looked on the resolution centre and on the forum - it says if you click refund there ought to be a 'partial refund' option but when I go to that area I can only see the option to 'refund for cancellation' and I don't want to release the whole lot. There doesn't appear to be a 'partial refund' option - or am I being stupid.

Is it on the next page?

I don't want to click OK in case it refunds everything then it is too late to go back.

How do I go about this.

I would prefer to do everything through Airbnb rather than paypal the money outside of airbnb.

Any suggestions welcome.