Payment from another person

Answered!

Payment from another person

Hello

i am new to AirBnB and I’ve received a very nice email from a family wishing to stay in my home whilst they are in the area on an adoption translation plan. They’d like the local council to pay the fee and they would have to pay on their behalf. Is this allowed and/or advised?

thank you in advance 

1 Best Answer
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Anna10207  A reservation on Airbnb has to be paid by the guest. The exception to that is if a business sets up a business account on Airbnb, then they can book on behalf of employees or other users of their service. So the council would have to set up an Airbnb business account.

A guest should not be trying to make alternative payment arrangements with a host, nor should you nor can you be involved in their payments. Tell them they have to discuss their payment options with Airbnb- hosts don't handle payment issues.

In any case, this sounds very odd- why would the local council pay for these people's accommodation?

I don't understand why people refer to Airbnb messages as "emails". Emails are messages that someone sends you to your personal email address.

View Best Answer in original post

9 Replies 9
Marissa160
Level 10
Dallas, TX

@Anna10207  I am from the US so please forgive me. What do you mean by local council to make the payment? Like it’s a government program that would pay for housing? 

Hi

yes it is a government local council. 

thanks

anna 

Colleen253
Level 10
Alberta, Canada

@Anna10207  Welcome to the community, and hosting 😊