Possibility of scams

Possibility of scams

Hello all, 

I am a student from Belgium and next year, I will spent 5 months in Saint-Petersburg, Russia as part of an exchange project. This of course means that it's necessary to find housing for me and two other students. I figured that for this, no service would be better than Airbnb! 

I am completely new to this platform, and our university warned us to be wary of scams when looking for housing. There have been for example instances of students renting an apartment, only to discover is does not even exist.  Since paying 5 months worth of housing is quite a big investment for a student, I was wondering if this is an issue I should worry about or al least be wary of on this platform. Not necessarily for Russia specifically, but just as well in a general sense. This might just be me being paranoid, but I figured it would be useful to know what more experienced users of this platform think about it. 

Thanks already, 

Teun Telier

7 Replies 7
Elena87
Level 10
СПБ, Russia

@Teun11 

With airbnb if you are planning on a multi month stay, you pay the first month upfront and thereafter in installments.

If a rogue host tries a bait and switch trick, there is recourse through airbnb.

On the airbnb site, you can see where a host has a proven track record of reviews which gives peace of mind.

Your University is right to flag up warnings regarding scams, but I think it's more likely to be aimed at local  websites pertaining to Russia such as avito where it's very much less regulated and dubious property agents are active.

I'd recommend if you are coming to SpB, book somewhere first on airbnb for a week or ten days, then you can see the local offerings for yourself and  be in a position to choose a place that meets your needs.