Progress Issues and Guest Honesty

Sharon1074
Level 2
Wichita Falls, TX

Progress Issues and Guest Honesty

Hello everyone,

I've been renting my suite for 4 months now, but in the past few weeks I have had multiple issues within inquiries, declining bookings, and then I had to cancel a reservation. All were due to the guests not being fully honest and following AirBnb Policies by trying to make changes including; "booking for friends or family", finding out they minors but stating they are adults with non-related adult guests coming in, or swapping who is going to be renting. Due to me declining bookings and one reservation, I received a message via AirBnb at 2:07 AM (ouch) stating that I can have my account suspended if I keep cancelling reservations and that my acceptance rate is too low.

I know that I had to not accept a few others, due to my weekday guest being late in sending a request for booking. He sends me a text, so I can open up my blocked booking, and then someone tries to snag it immediately, so I have to decline. 

Please let me know there are ways to fix this or ways to make sure this doesn't happen again. I was on my way to becoming a Superhost and want to get back on track!

Thank you!

2 Replies 2
Linda108
Level 10
La Quinta, CA

Two thoughts about your situation come to mind, @Sharon1074 . 

First, given the complexity of your availability situation, perhaps you should stop Instant Book , a potential guest has to contact you so you can assess your real availability.