Recent guest claiming bodily injury (due to his carelessness) since recent stay

Julie1521
Level 2
Strathblane, United Kingdom

Recent guest claiming bodily injury (due to his carelessness) since recent stay

Hello folks,

I am hoping you guys can comment on whether you've experienced the following:

As a bit of background I have been hosting for 5 years and have hosted many guests and achieved superhost status 19 times in a row.  Things have been going well and I've had no issue with my outside steps until last week.  I suppose the longer you do this hosting business you risk having a horrible person/ambulance chaser stay.  Mine stayed last week.

One day into his stay he texted me (not using the airbnb portal) to say he had slipped down the stairs and was in agony. He blamed the slippy state of the stairs. I immediately realised I shouldn't admit liability and get my housekeeper to take photos of the stairs. I also found out that it had been raining that day. I contacted him the next day to ask him how he was and he said he was “not too bad” and “amazed” he was up and about. He checked out as planned and there was no mention of going to the doctor although I had pointed out that if he wanted to contact the doctor the number was in the house instructions.