One of our guests, who has stayed with us multiple times, had to cancel their reservation in late March because their party now exceeds the number of guests we can allow. I am totally fine with refunding her the total amount, but I am confused about the process. I received an email from Airbnb stating "You can also refund the full amount to the user by clicking the button below." If I go through the process, I can send her the amount they say will now be our payout. Problem is when I go through the steps to do this it says the money will be withdrawn from the account connected to our Airbnb hosting side. We have not received any payout as a result of the cancellation and it seems we will not until late March (24 hours after her original reservation) based on what I am reading, so I am hesitant to refund money from our account that has not been deposited in our account, How does this process work?
@Martine Sounds dubious to send her money this way. Can you just call Airbnb to cancel it? I had a similar problem and in my airbnb messenging it showed that both me and the guest mutually agreed to wanting the reservation being canceled with no penalty to either of us. The rep I spoke to cancelled it on my behalf with no penalties to either party.