Responding to an Inquiry vs Reservation Request

Margot55
Level 2
New York, NY

Responding to an Inquiry vs Reservation Request

I've been hosting for only 2 months and it's going well. I'm now getting requests for Christmas/New Year's. My house sleeps 13 and I don't want it to be a party house, so I always ask the guest to tell me a little about the group. Sometimes I hear back, and sometimes I don't. My questions are:

1. What is the difference between an Inquiry and a Reservation Request?

2. If I'm only messaging and not Accepting or Declining, is that hurting my Response Rate?

3. If the guest never responds to me, should I just Decline the Inquiry or Request?

Thank you. 

15 Replies 15
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

Hi,

1. Inquiry is just asking, you must repsond at least once within the given timelimit, otherwise it will effect your response rate in a negative way. That's all. If no further communication happens, remove item from dashboard. BTW You also have opportunity (but not the obligation) to grant them to book, but that's on your decision.

2. Reservation request: You can exchange message(s) first , but you MUST accept or decline (and provide a reason) it within the given timelimit, otherwise dates will be blocked. (For all: the sooner you respond the better for your respons rate).

best regards,emiel

Thank you. Very helpful. 

@Margot55, it can be a bit confusing.

1. A Reservation Request is an actual request to make a booking. These must be either Accepted or Declined in the time frame so as to not affect your response rate. If you accept it, the booking is made (pending payment by the guest).

An Inquiry is just a message being sent to you about a potential booking. You do NOT have to Accept or Decline these. If you just send a message back, that fulfills your responsiblity to respond.

2. If you are just messaging in response to Inquiries (instead of Accepting or Declining) that does NOT affect your response rate.