Responding to bad reviews

Rhiannon9
Level 1
London, United Kingdom

Responding to bad reviews

Hello, I'm new to airbnb as a host, and my third guest left me a bad, and in parts dishonest review. I've contacted airbnb because some of what's been said is patently untrue and our communications through the airbnb app will demonstrate that. 

There was one unfortunate incident where she was locked out of the flat, but I had told her ahead of time that I would be out of London and asked her to check the keys I'd given her to ensure she'd be ok to get into my flat while I was away for the evening, she declined to do so. When she alerted me I was 50 miles out of London on a train, I told her I could turn around and come straight back but that it was likely to take me 2-3 hours to do so (Brighton I love you but your trains to London...not so much!) and she told me to not to. We agreed I'd have dinner with my friend and come back as soon as I could, and let her know when I was on a train back. Unfortunately I just missed the previous train and ended up on a delayed later train, and then my tube home had the passenger alarm pulled... I refunded her for the night immediately and wanted to speak to her the next day but she slammed the door and avoided me for the remainder of her stay so we didn't get the chance to discuss it.

She's now claiming my flat was dirty, that she had to buy slippers because of the dirt - she arrived with a ratty,clearly dusty pair of freebie slippers from a flight/hotel or something like that, I had cleaned the whole flat immediately before she arrived including hoovering and dusting the room she was staying in as well as the rest of the flat including fully cleaning the kitchen and bathroom. I also feel she's misreprenting the reason I was out of town, claiming I came back from a party at 1am, rather than meeting a friend from out of town for dinner 90 miles from London etc.