Response rate: accept/decline within 24 hours?

Sepand0
Level 3
Toronto, Canada

Response rate: accept/decline within 24 hours?

I'm new to Airbnb and I don't understand one thing. I've had several inquiries over the past 2 days for my property. These inquiries can be replied to, accepted, or declined. Since the inquiries have always involved questions by the potential guests, we do some back and forth. But this takes more than 24 hours. IN fact, I usually reply very quickly, and then wait for 12-24 hours before the guest replies.

Does this hurt my response rate? If it does, it makes absolutely no sense.

18 Replies 18
ZenHomes0
Level 10
Singapore

@Sepand0 when guests inquire about your property, only the first response matters, even if it's a "hi". Whatever follows doens't count towards your response time.

However if someone sends a booking request, you'll have to respond within 24 hours (either accept or decline) otherwise it'll expire and those dates will be blocked out. 

There's always a countdown timer for every inquiry or booking request. If you respond and refresh the page, and the timer is there, you'd probably have to accept/decline as it's a booking request.

So if I've responded once or several times within the 24 hours, but the 24 hours have gone by and I haven't accepted or declined the request, that wouldn't hurt my listing's standing/ranking in the search results?

Enda0
Level 7
London, United Kingdom

Hi @Sepand0,

If the person has made a request to book, you have to accept or decline within 24 hours or it expires and this *may* hurt your ranking. It may affect your response time rating and apparently this is one of the factors the search algorithm takes into account. It's a bit annoying when you genuinely need more information before you decide. It may be best to decline within the 24 hours and message the guest that if they are still interested, you can make a Special Offer for the dates. 

From the site:

Expired reservation requests