Reviews - When a guest leaves a review then the host does, can the guest edit it after?

Crystal223
Level 2
Chandler, AZ

Reviews - When a guest leaves a review then the host does, can the guest edit it after?

Hello,

I am new to renting my home as a vacation rental and could use more information on how the review process works. I just had my first stay and can see that she left a review but can't see it until I complete one on her is that correct?  First experiance wasn't a great one. The guest broke my showerhead handle and clogged the disposal. I also do not allow parties/large gatherings or childern under 2 at my home. She stated it would only be two people and I have a 3 bedroom home that sleeps 6.  All rooms were used and she had a huge party per what the neighbors stated, this was also validated by beer, alcohol and other items left at the house.  There were also dirty dippers left in the spare bathroom.

If I leave a review on her that is professional but lets others hosts know can she change the review she left me if it was a good one?

If I take her deposit to pay for the damage can she edit her review?

Thoughts?

Crystal

2 Replies 2
Stephen-and-Adam0
Level 7
Santiago de Querétaro, Mexico

Hi @Crystal223 

Sorry to see that your first experience was a negative one.  It seems this guest took advantage of your inexperience and it is important that you are honest in your review so that other future hosts are aware.  Her review cannot be changed once you have submitted yours so you need not worry about any review retaliation via an edit.  In your review of her, simply list the key facts and advise you would not recommend her to other hosts.  Keep it simple and free of emotion or conjecture to enure it is not challenged and removed.  

If there was any damage or additional cleaning costs, you will need to gather all evidence (photos and receipts) and open a case with Airbnb to obtain the costs of the damages.