Ripped off and Air B&B Help is not being much help

Answered!
Spyros26
Level 2
San Rafael, CA

Ripped off and Air B&B Help is not being much help

I have been using the platform for the last 3 years and 13 trips and only had great experiences to report. 

Until my latest one.

I got swindled out of over 600 euros in cleaning fees by the host among other serious problems during my stay.

I submitted evidence of the case to Air B&B Help and for the last two weeks since I raised the issue all I've gotten is template responses, getting passed from one representative to another-who repeat the template process as if they were never caught up to the previous conversation and unresponsiveness to my questions.  

If anyone has any experience and advice on the matter, I would appreciate it. 

1 Best Answer
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

Hosts are always saying that Airbnb favors guests and guests are always saying they favor the host, but the reality is, that both hosts and guests often get horrible treatment and it seems to be the luck of the draw depending on who you happen to have handle a case as to whether it's done in a fair manner.

It's Airbnb itself that mostly creates the situation where hosts and guests are pitted against one another, by not consistently following policies, not looking at evidence presented, or a host or guest's past history, and by allowing poorly trained, poorly paid, low level employees make decisions and having the power to close cases which are clearly unresolved.

@Heidi588

View Best Answer in original post

16 Replies 16
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Spyros26 I suspect we can't help but more info is definitely needed if we are to try. It's hard to see how you can be out 600 Euros as most times Airbnb side with the guest not the host. I guess it could be a commercial host that is allowed to take security deposits - Typically advice is to avoid these but of course it's too late for that now.

Spyros26
Level 2