Rude Guests

Sara228
Level 1
St. Louis, MO

Rude Guests

Hi all, I recently starting hosting on Airbnb, and certain guests have been upset by certain things not being how they expected them to be. Most recently, I was rudely spoken to because I do not offer wifi (which I do not say I offer in my listing). I am not really sure how to respond to these guests when they expect me to offer them with things I do not claim to have. This woman just expected me to have wifi and said she was "flabbergasted" when I explained that my listing does not list "wifi" on the "ammenities" section.

It makes me extremely stressed to be treated rudely, even when I am not at fault. How do hosts deal with these types of people?

22 Replies 22

Hi I’m an active Airbnb host and (a guest as well), I’ve been hosting with pleasure guests since June 2016 on Airbnb and only getting very good reviews and making friends. However I’m currently having a guest that checked-in very sick (flu I think) and is being rude and impolite… How should I manage and what are my options? Please advice.

Unfortunately, they even troll these forums! AirBnB is not for the faint hearted. I feel for you. There was a time when people were usually very nice. What I would do is ask if they'd like to find somewhere else to stay. Wait for them to agree....THEN call AirBnB and tell them the guest has asked to leave. You won't be penalised. Unfortunately, the guest in cases like this are usually refunded their money. That's right. It encourages rudeness. I think that's the reason in 2017 a high proportion of guests are very rude.

Elizabeth164
Level 9
Portland, ME